NHS Berkshire West Clinical Commissioning Group (BWCCG) has the statutory responsibility to commission a range of local health services for people in the Berkshire West area. This means planning, designing, contracting and paying for services for the population including those provided by Royal Berkshire NHS Foundation Trust, Berkshire Healthcare NHS Foundation Trust and the services provided by local GP practices. The services that we commission include:

  • Urgent and emergency care (including NHS 111, Accident and Emergency, Urgent Treatment Centre and ambulance services)
  • Elective (Planned) hospital care
  • Diagnostic and treatment service for cancer
  • Community health services (such as rehabilitation services, speech and language therapy, wheelchair services, and home oxygen services)
  • Maternity and new-born services (excluding neonatal intensive care)
  • Children's healthcare services (mental and physical health)
  • Mental health services (including talking therapies)
  • Services for people with learning disabilities and autism
  • NHS continuing healthcare
  • General practice (responsibility delegated by NHS England from April 2016)
  • Out-of-hours primary medical services
  • Healthcare for veterans, reservists and armed forces families

BWCCG is made up of 45 member GP Practices, serving a population of 557,501 people. It is part of the Buckinghamshire, Oxfordshire and Berkshire West Integrated Care System (BOB ICS) which covers a population of 1.8 million, three Clinical Commissioning Groups (CCGs) including BWCCG, six NHS Trusts, 14 local authorities and 166 GP practices, working together as 45 Primary Care Networks.